Five-act lens for the Bible story

As described within at least three books (referenced below), theologian N.T. Wright has proposed the five-act lens for the Bible story.

The five acts are as follows:

  • Act I
  • Act II
    “the fall”
  • Act III
  • Act IV
  • Act V
    the church


Wright, N.T. (1992). The New Testament and the people of God, Christian origins and the question of God, vol. 1. London: Fortress Press

Wright, N.T. (2005). Paul: fresh perspectives. London: SPCK

Wright, N.T. (2005b). Scripture and the authority of God. London: SPCK